X Close

Most Consecutive Defeats: Longest Losing Streak in the IPL

New Delhi:

The Indian Premier League is the world's biggest cricket tournament and is played once every year in India. It was first played in 2008 and became a worldwide hit, and now it is among the top-most popular sports tournaments across the world. It started with 8 teams, and over the years, a few teams also joined in. Currently, there are ten teams participating in this tournament.

Chennai Super Kings and Mumbai Indians are the most successful teams that have won five titles each. However, CSK holds the record for most final appearances, as they have made ten IPL finals and won five of them. All these came under the leadership of MS Dhoni. Meanwhile, there are a few teams that have not won any titles since the start.

Delhi Capitals: Longest Losing Streak in IPL History

Delhi Capitals formerly known as Delhi Daredevils, are one of those teams that have not won the tournament even once. Well, they have been unlucky some times, but sometimes they have played poorly. For six consecutive seasons between 2013 and 2018, Delhi couldn't make it to the playoffs. This was the time when they set an unwanted record for the longest losing streak in the IPL.

DC holds the unwanted record for most defeats in a row. They had this moment between the 2014 and 2015 seasons when they lost 11 consecutive games. With this, they equalled former IPL team Pune Warriors India for the longest losing streak in the tournament for 11 games. PWI made it between 2012 and 2012. Furthermore, DC also holds the record for the most defeats in a single edition of the Indian Premier League.

Also Read: Join Our WhatsApp Channel For World Cup Updates

During the 2013 season, DC played 16 matches in the group stage. They lost 13 out of them and won only three. As a result, they finished ninth in the points table. However, the Delhi-based franchise changed its name from Delhi Daredevils to Delhi Capitals in 2019, which brought some luck for them. DC made the finals of 2020 under Shreyas Iyer but unfortunately lost the final against Mumbai Indians. Not just in the IPL, even in the first two editions of the Women's Premier League, the DC women lost in the finals of both games.